## Walkertown Area Historical Society REGULAR MEETING AUGUST 19, 2008

1. On behalf of the Board of Directors, Enos Jumper opened the meeting and conducted the election of the first officers for the Society. He presented the following slate of candidates:

President Wallace Baird
Vice-President Sarah Welch
Secretary Nancy Farnham
Assistant Secretary Jennifer Ziglar
Treasurer Lynn McKinnie
Assistant Treasurer Jane Morris

He requested nominations from the floor, but none were proposed. A motion was made and seconded to accept the Board's candidates, and they were elected by the membership with a hand vote.

- 2. For the meeting program, two local individuals were introduced. The first speaker was Clarke Stephens, who displayed and commented on his collection of memorabilia relating to early tobacco factories and products in North Carolina and Virginia. Of particular interest was information regarding two Walkertown tobacco factories, operated by N.D. Sullivan and T.A. Crews. The second speaker was Melvin "Junie" Kiser, whose family has lived in Walkertown for several generations. He presented information about houses and families along Salem Road, which was a major road through Walkertown, prior to the railroad, and so named as it connected Salem, NC, to Salem, VA. Both speakers provided materials for members to review.
- 3. President Wallace Baird gave the following information to the membership:
  - The next regular meeting is scheduled for September 23, 2008 with a new time of 6:30 p.m. instead of 6:00 p.m.
  - A website of Walkertownareahistoricalsociety.org has been established.
  - There will be a vote at the September meeting to amend the Bylaws, Article V, Section 1, to require the approval of two Board members for reimbursements of \$50.00 or less.
  - The current membership is 76 and the Chair of the Membership Committee is Sharon Lane.
  - There has been contact by several out-of-state individuals with Walkertown connections, who apparently read on-line the Winston-Salem Journal article regarding the July 15, 2008 meeting.

Nancy Farnham Secretary